Love Affair

Yes, it’s true. I am having a love affair…with xanthan gum and guar gum. I have been sick for the past three days so smoothies are my best friend. Not to mention the only way I am getting fruits because the thought of eating fruits or veggies makes me gag.

Heather’s Chocolate Protein Ice Cream

no words. just too darn tasty :]

Strawberry “Shake”

  • 1 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 2 large handfuls of whole, frozen strawberries
  • 2 handfuls of ice cubes
  • 1/2 tsp. guar gum
  • 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum

Just pour everything into a blender and blend :]

33 Responses

  1. That looks amazing! Still, making me feel a bit cold here in the wintery North….well sort of North…more like East… :S But ….It looks so tasty I almost don’t care! πŸ˜›

  2. Thanks for your comment on my blog!
    Looking forward to read more from you:)

    x Julia (Taste of Living)

  3. Looks delicious! What exactly are xanthan and guar gums, though? I’ve seen them around the blogworld and I know they create volume but I’m not sure how…

  4. LOVE ME SOME PROTEIN ICE CREAM!! yummm!!! it will taste even BETTER in the summer!

  5. Oooooh, I will need to chat with you about these gums! I’ve never used them but they seem magical. Do you purchase them online or from a health food store??

    Thanks πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. I love using xanthan and guar gum πŸ™‚ I’ve seen some other gums in the store (i.e Locust Bean) but I’d have no idea what to do with them!

  7. Very cute blog! I’ve been too cold to have smoothies, but I would love to give some of the gums a go! Thanks for stopping by my blog- I love yours!

  8. Feel better!!!

    xo

    jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  9. I played around with gums the other day. It’s amazing what a difference they make!

  10. YUMMM these look so delicious!!!

  11. Thanks for the lovely comment, sorry you’ve been sick.

  12. question: where do you find xanthum gum? I’ve heard good things about it and I’m curious to use it, but I don’t even know where to begin looking!

  13. Wow, look at that gorgeous colors! My friend recently told me about the wonders of xantham gum…you and her would have lots to share! Hee.

  14. I NEED to get the gums! Everyone tries them and just falls in love with them…what’s taking me so long!? The chocolate and strawberry creations look so delicious…!

  15. I need to stop drooling over everyone else’s protein ice cream pics and make my own!! haha!! πŸ™‚

  16. I’ve been really curious about those gums. I love smoothies but would like a bit more thickness to mine. Where do you get your gums from?

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  17. YUM! I want all of them!!!

  18. brrrrr! looks good but c-c-c-old!

  19. oh you have the cutest blog! πŸ™‚ love the vibrancy + texture of the pics in this most. looks so creamy & delish.

    ❀ http://www.prettytimepiece.org

  20. wow! these both look amazing. oh my gosh, i have to try that beeeautiful pink smoothie πŸ™‚ have a great day xoxo soph

  21. Feel better! I’m intrigued by the gums…I always thought they were preservatives, but I guess they are thickeners?? Neat!

  22. I bought some xanthan gum today woo! Now I can try out your delish creations πŸ™‚

  23. I really want some of these gums!! Your creations look incredible.
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  24. your blog is so fun πŸ™‚ love the name of it! thanks for coming by mine and i hope you stay and hang out woo hoo πŸ˜‰

    i can’t waiiit for my xanthum gum to come in the mail! it’ll be like christmas haha

  25. your luscious frozen treats in bowls, ahhh! how is your food photography so beautiful? mine always looks like it was taken with a night vision camera in a cave somewhere πŸ™‚

  26. Aaahh soo yummy right! You’re making my magic bullet/protein ice cream withdrawals even more evident than they already were. :)) Boo on dorm rules.

    Have a great weekend!

  27. oh that strawberry shake sounds delicious!

  28. Holy moly cow! How luscious do the ice creams look! The chocolate one looks like a huge fluffy pillow and so light! I hope with these yummy treats, you’ll get better soon. Thanks for the comment on my blog. I look forward to reading more πŸ˜€

  29. They look so smooth and creamy…yum!!

    Hope you’re feeling better soon! πŸ˜€

  30. hi i just stumbled upon your blog lol im new to blogging but your smoothies look awesome!! i love protein ice cream <333
    i hope you feel better soon!
    amy<3

  31. girl these look good!!! glad u are blogging πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  32. Those look fantastic! I really need to get those gums. Like pronto.

  33. Such tasty smoothies! I have the gums on a “must have(s)” list. Gotta get me some!

Leave a Reply

